Wednesday, November 18, 2015

The Charleston Classic Basketball Tournament

In honor of the Gildan Charleston Classic being played this weekend, we wanted to do a little recap of the history and origins of Charleston's very own basketball tournament. ESPN started the Charleston Classic in 2008, and it was played at the Carolina First Arena on Meeting Street. Eight teams participate in the tournament, with 12 games total played over the course of 3 days. Miami won the tournament in 2014, defeating UNC Charlotte 77-58 in the championship round.

The first game of the first Charleston Classic, TCU vs. Western Michigan, was also the first game ever played at the newly-constructed Carolina First Arena, which was built to replace the John Kresse Arena as CofC's home basketball court. In order to continue honoring the legendary basketball coach John Kresse, the court itself is named John Kresse Court. The arena was re-named in 2010 when TD Bank purchased the South Financial Group, and today the stadium is called the TD Arena.

Photo Credit:

Unfortunately the College of Charleston basketball team is not good enough to be invited to the tournament this year. In fact, in the 8 years of the tournament's existence, CofC has only played in it twice: in 2008 and 2012.  This weekend the team is out of town, playing Davidson in North Carolina, but there will still be plenty of basketball action at the TD Arena. Probably the most action it will get all year, as CofC is notorious for low attendance at their home games. So get out there and watch some basketball!

View the 2015 tournament bracket here. Get your tickets here.

1 comment: